Geoscience Honour Roll

The Saskatchewan Geoscience Honour Roll plaque is an award that was established by the Saskatchewan Geological Society in 2002 to recognize geoscientists who have made significant contributions to geoscience in the province. The plaque has been placed in a prominent location in the front office area at the SIR Subsurface Geological Laboratory. The Geoscience Honour Roll plaque is awarded annually at the SGS Annual General Meeting. Nominations for the award are accepted from SGS members on a year-round basis. Nominees do not necessarily have to be present or past members of the society. The important criterion is that their contribution has significantly enhanced our understanding of Saskatchewan geoscience, or that they have made major contributions to the development of the province's mineral or energy resources.

SGS members are encouraged to send nominations for the Honour Roll plaque to the SGS Executive (, including a brief biographical sketch (1-2 pages) summarizing the nominee's contributions to geoscience. To see biographies of recipients from previous years please visit their pages below. An Honour Roll review committee, with representation from the soft and hard rock sectors, will select one new recipient every year.

Previous Geoscience Honour Roll Award Winners:

2004James Christopher
 Don Kent
 John Lewry
2005A. R. Byers 
 J.D. Mollard
 Henry Sawatzky
2006E.A. Christiansen
 Klaus Lehnert-Thiel
 Laurence Vigrass
2007Les Beck 
 F, H, Edmunds
 Zoltan Hajnal
2008Ralph Cheesman
 Dave MacDougall
 Paul Ramaekers
 Ralph Edie
2009J. B. Mawdsley
2010Fran Haidl
 Jack Porter
2011Charlie Harper
2012JGCM Fuller
2013Bob MacDonald
2014Ken Ashton
 Tim Tokaryk


Tom Sibbald

2016Milt Holter
2017Bill Slimmon
2018Dave Thomas
2019Colin Dunn




































No events at this time.
Website by OH! Media a division of Phoenix Group.