2021 Annual General Meeting Agenda Saskatchewan Geological Society Saturday, February 5th, 2022 via Teams

1 Call to Order 1:32 pm.

Attendants on Teams: 22 people at 1:30; up to 24 people

Announcement: The Williston Basin Core workshop is being renamed after Don Kent.

Brian notes that there is an error in the agenda: section 4.5 should have Brendan Bishop as Program Chair instead of Alec Pollard (amended below).

2 Approval of the Agenda.

Motion to approve by Janice Dale, Michelle Hanson seconded. Discussion:

Brian asks the membership if there is anything they would like to add to the agenda. Gavin will talk about Willistion Basin conference and give an APEGS update in section 6, Business from the Floor. Motion carried.

3 Approval of the Minutes of the 2020 AGM held February 6, 2021 (minutes available on the website). Motion to approve by Samantha Van De Kerckhove, Ken Ashton seconded; motion carried.

4 Approval of 2021 Executive Reports

4.1 President, Brian Brunskill.

Motion to approve by Ralf Maxeiner, Dave Thomas seconded; motion carried.

4.2 Vice-president, Taylor Forsyth.

Motion to approve by Dave Thomas; Ted O'Conner seconded; motion carried.

- 4.3 Business Manager & Secretary, Samantha Van De Kerckhove
- Motion to approve by Janice Dale; Ralf Maxeiner seconded; motion carried.
 - 4.4 Treasurer, Dillon Johnstone.

Motion to approve by Samantha Van De Kerckhove; Michelle Hanson seconded;

Dillon provided a short summary of his report which can also be found in the Treasurer's Report section of AGM report.

Dillon provided a very brief history of the Society's most recent financial reviews:

The last review engagement was completed in 2013 at a cost of ~\$4,000.00. Also, in 2018/2019, professional accountants from Davidson Bookkeeping were hired to handle the financial records for the 2018 financial year and organize the Society's books. Last year we discussed having a scheduled review and engagement report completed. However, each financial year is unique, with different factors, and therefore, the executive decided it was better to leave it to the membership to decide each year at the AGM as opposed to committing to a schedule. Motion carried.

Non-profit Corporation Act, 1995 requires yearly vote as to whether or not we need a financial audit.

Motion **not** to appoint an auditor this year by Dave Thomas, Mike Thomas seconded; motion carried. Motion **not** to have a financial audit by Dave Thomas, Janice Dale seconded; motion carried.

4.5 Speaker Program, Brendan Bishop & David Thomas.

Motion to approve by Michelle Hanson, Ralf Maxeiner seconded; Discussion: Ralf Maxeiner commented on how well its have been done, everyone agrees that the zoom meetings are great.

Motion carried.

5 Approval of the 2021 Committee Reports.

5.1 Education and Outreach Committee, Kate MacLachlan (chair).

Motion to approve by Samantha Van De Kerckhove, Dave Thomas seconded; Discussion:

Kate MacLachlan noted a need for more volunteers; Janice Dale expressed an interest in helping out. Dave Thomas suggests Kate could runs a virtual meeting to discuss Education and Outreach in order to entice volunteers.

Motion carried.

5.2 Field Trip Committee, John Lake (chair).

Motion to approve by Kate MacLachlan, Michelle Hanson seconded;

John Lake's microphone not working so Mike and other members filled in info as best they could. The plan is to go to Yellowstone in late August, maybe later. There will be a meeting about it this month. Motion carried.

5.3 Geoscience Calendar Committee, Ralf Maxeiner (chair).

Motion to approve by Dillon Johnstone; Mike Thomas seconded;

Discussion:

Call for photos for 2023 coming soon. Ralf Maxeiner says thank you to everyone on the committee. Motion carried.

5.4 GeoExplore Saskatchewan Committee, Kate MacLachlan & Ralf Maxeiner (co-chairs). Motion to approve by Janice Dale; Dave Thomas seconded; Discussion:

Kate MacLachlan says a big thanks to everyone on the committee. They are still meeting quarterly with SMA and PTRC. The website is about 95% complete - everyone should go check it out. Motion carried.

5.5 Geological Survey Open House Committee, Jason Berenyi (chair).

Motion to approve by Michelle Hanson; Samantha Van De Kerckhove seconded; Discussion:

Samantha asked about finances, Michelle responded that we lost only about \$2400 bucks due to the cancellations. We did not get hit with a large cancellation fee from the hotel as expected, likely due to customer loyalty with the Bessborough.

Motion carried

5.6 Williston Basin Petroleum Conference Committee, Erik Nickel (chair).

Motion to approve by Ralf Maxeiner, Murray Rogers seconded; Motion carried.

5.7 Awards Committee, Mike Thomas (chair).

Motion to approve by Samantha Van De Kerckhove; Michelle Hanson seconded;

Award winners, Shelby Brandt, Damian Friesen, Brittany Boyarski and Oliver Horner, will be recognized properly once we can have an in-person event.

Motion carried

5.8 Honour Roll Committee, David MacDougall (member). Motion to approve by Mike Thomas; Murray Rogers seconded;

Discussion:

Hoping to have a meeting soon. There are 7 candidates this year, so we might double up. Would be nice to have a special evening, in person, to dedicate to them. Motion carried.

6 Business from the Floor, new and old.

Gavin Jensen for the Williston Basin committee:

The conference will run from May 16th Tues-Wed; need 6 speakers total - have 4 but still need 2. We will know in the next couple weeks if it will get cancelled, but going ahead with it at this time – might possibly go virtual, but really want it in person. The conference raises \$15 000 for the Society. Some conference bills get paid out of that. A volunteer is needed to be production editor for the event. Used to get some funding for the conference from APEGS, but that is changing.

APEGS update:

They have undergone a governance review, comparing themselves with other self regulating professional associations and how they fund and interact with these types of societies.

7 "Election"/ introduction of the 2022 Executive.

President - Brian Brunskill Past President – Mike Thomas Vice President – Jessica Flynn Treasurer - Dillon Johnstone Asst. Treasurer – Michelle Hanson Program Chair – Brendan Bishop Program Chair – Dave Thomas Secretary - Jason Cosford Business Manager – Samantha Van De Kerckhove – still looking for a volunteer for this position

8 Adjournment.

Meeting Adjourned.

TIME FOR SOCIALIZING